Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
July 4 2012 3 04 /07 /July /2012 03:05

Well its 2am and I cannot sleep even though I am so exhausted!

Many people reading this can relate to this feeling but the majority of Kidney patients will probably understand a little better about the next bit.

Every now and again I get what is known as Restless legs. I never had this before my kidneys failed and it is one of the worst feelings in the world.

I cannot say my legs just involuntary move but an overwhelming urge to move them like an itch that cannot be scratched, it doesn't go away no matter how much you jiggle them about.

 

I have tried walking, dancing, excersing you name it, I even went out in the middle of the night once walking I was so stressed which wasn't very sensible but I was at my wits end after 3 nights of no sleep.

I remember at my last house I had the worst bout of restless legs lasting for over a week and one night I spent crying in front of the fire as I just didn't know what else to do I was so tired but my legs would not stop.

Sometimes it also spreads through my body where i feel I have to move everything its horrible.

I was prescribed Clonazepam ( a muscle relaxant) which also makes you very drowsy. The trouble is it does act as a sleeping tablet so I would be half asleep but my legs would still be restless and I when I tried walking about I would walk into things this was even worse.

The doctors cannot prescribe anything else and I have even done my own research online as well.

A lot of research states it is down to a lack of Iron but my Iron stores are actually High.

There are other factors such as certain pathways in the brain being affected but that doesn't seem to link to me as that is more of an involuntary movement similiar to parkinsons.

As this is common in Kidney patients it is obviously something related probably to itself and therefore is little I can do.

 

My husband finds it tiring as well as sometimes I do this in my sleep which I am unaware of. I lash out and kick him and he has to sleep in the spare room.

 

I have found I sometimes get this when I have overslept and I usually get to fall asleep by early morning when it is time to get up.

 

Anyway thought I would write this to let you all know another aspect of  my life

 

TTFN

Lisa

xx

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Présentation

  • : livelifelisa
  • : I decided to write a blog about my life on dialysis. Originally there was no option of a transplant due to a rare genetic disease but all this changed. I want people to try and understand what myself and my family go through, not just the bad times but the good as well. Hope you enjoy my story!!
  • Contact

Recherche

Liens